Connect with us on:
Facebook logo
Youtube logo

» DIVISIONS
  » Uniform Patrol Unit  
  » Reserve Deputy Program  
  » Traffic Unit  
  » H.E.A.T. Unit  
  » K-9 Unit  
  » Civil Unit  
  » Accreditation Unit  
  » School Resource Officers  
  » Westside Precinct  
 
  » Criminal Investigations Unit  
  » Sex Offenders Unit  
     
  » Court Services Unit  
  » Training Unit  
     
  » Detention Unit  
  » Inmate Services Unit  
  » Special Response Unit  
  » Warrants Unit  
  » Transport Unit  
  » Marine Patrol Unit  
     
  » Office of Prof Standards  
  » Special Investigations Unit  
  » S.W.A.T. Unit  
  » Crime Suppression Unit  
  » Grant Administration  
  » Chaplain Unit  
  » Public Information  
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
 
School Resource Officer Unit

The Newton County Sheriff’s Office has implemented the School
Resource Unit in cooperation with the Newton County Public Schools.
The program involves the assignment of law enforcement officers to the public middle and high schools as School Resource Officers (SRO). The School Resource Unit is intended to ensure that no student's right to receive an education is hindered by violence or disruption.

Each deputy is involved in a variety of functions aimed at prevention. In addition to being an active high profile deputy, he/she is also a resource
for students, parents, teachers and administration regarding law issues. Another duty for the deputy is being a link to other service agencies that provide preventive and counseling services within the school district. Working hand-in-hand with the principal in each school and school board,the deputy assists with finding solutions to problems afflicting today's school age children.
 

Sergeant Cortney Morrison
School Resource Commander

cmorrison@newtonsheriffga.org

Q: What do SROs do in the schools?
A: The SRO works with the administration, educators, and counselors.The role each deputy plays is
dependent on the need of the situation. As a sworn public safety officer he/she is assigned to provide the law enforcement expertise and resources to assist school staff in maintaining safety and order.Each deputy shall:
  • Handle all calls for service and coordinate the response of other law enforcement resources to the
    school.
  • Be visible patrolling the exterior and interior grounds, particularly during the opening or closing of
    school and during the lunch periods.
  • Wear a uniform identifying them as a police officer.
  • Be involved with training for the school administration in law enforcement and related matters.
  • Monitor the social and cultural environment to identify emerging youth gangs.
  • Meet as necessary with the school principal for the purpose of exchanging information about current crime trends, problem areas, or other areas of concern.
  • Not act as a school disciplinarian, as the responsibility of discipline lies solely within the school administration.If the principal believes an incident is in violation of the law, he/she may contact the SRO to determine whether law enforcement action is appropriate.
  • Assist the principal in developing plans and strategies to prevent and/or minimize dangerous situations, which may result from student unrest.

Q: How can I contact my child's SRO? 
A:You may contact your child's SRO by calling the school during school hours and asking for the SRO.
If school is not in session, contact may be made through the NCSO School Resource Unit Commander, Sgt. Cortney Morrison at (678)625-1405 or cmorrison@newtonsheriffga.org.

School Resource Officers:


Cpl. Romario Johnson

Co-Commander

rjohnson@newtonsheriffga.org
 

Deputy Sherri Collier

Cousins Middle

scollier@newtonsheriffga.org
 

Deputy Shane Britt

Alcovy High

sbritt@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Antoinette Major

Newton High

amajor@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Andre Lawrence

Newton High

alawrence@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Dana Maddox

Liberty Middle

dmaddox@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Johnny Robinson

Veterans Middle

jrobinson@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Freda Holloway

Indian Creek Middle

fholloway@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Latavia Washington
Alcovy High

lwashington@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Michael Gregg
Newton High

mgregg@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Jeremy Vieira
Eastside High

jvieira@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Lee Smith
Alcovy High

lsmith@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Mark Hegwood
Clements Middle

mhegwood@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Priscilla Tyree
Mainstay

ptyree@newtonsheriffga.org

Deputy Milton Hightower
Eastside High

mhightower@newtonsheriffga.org
  » NEWS STORIES

NCSO searching for Tuesday shooting
suspects

Posted: April 11, 2018

Resident shot at during early morning
burglary

Posted: April 10, 2018

NCSO to host 'recruitment roundup'
Posted: April 9, 2018
  » CURRENT AGENCY NEWS

Severe Weather Alert from Sheriff Brown
+ More information

Discharging Firearms Code
+ More information



 
Copyright © Newton County Sheriff's Office 2018 Privacy Policy   15151 Alcovy Road, Covington, GA 30014 ▪ (678) 625-1403