Connect with us on:
Facebook logo
Youtube logo

» FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
  » General Information  
  » Detention  
  » Sex Offender Information  
  » Discharging Firearms  
  » Open Records  
  » Employment  
  » Privacy Policy  
 

Q: How can I check for registered sex offenders in my neighborhood?
Click on the "Sex Offender Registry" tab on the home page and enter in your address, and it will tell you if there are any offenders in your area. You may also sign up for e-mail updates where the system will notify you of any sex offenders moving within 1 mile of your home.

  1. Who is required to register as a sexual offender? O.C.G.A. § 42-1-12 (e)
    Answer: Any individual who: (1) Is convicted on or after July 1, 1996, of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor; (2) Is convicted on or after July 1, 1996, of a dangerous sexual offense; (3) Has previously been convicted of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor and may be released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation on or after July 1, 1996; (4) Has previously been convicted of a sexually violent offense or dangerous sexual offense and may be released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation on or after July 1, 1996; (5) Is a resident of Georgia who intends to reside in this state and who is convicted under the laws of another state or the United States, under the Uniform Code of Military Justice, or in tribal court of a sexually violent offense, a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor on or after July 1, 1999, or a dangerous sexual offense on or after July 1, 1996; (6) Is a nonresident who changes residence from another state or territory of the United States or any other place to Georgia who is required to register as a sexual offender under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory or who has been convicted in this state of a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor or any dangerous sexual offense; (7) Is a nonresident sexual offender who enters this state for the purpose of employment or any other reason for a period exceeding 14 consecutive days or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year regardless of whether such sexual offender is required to register under federal law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory; or (8) Is a nonresident sexual offender who enters this state for the purpose of attending school as a full-time or part-time student regardless of whether such sexual offender is required to register under federal law, military law, tribal law, or the laws of another state or territory.

  2. What are the requirements of the sexual offender? O.C.G.A. § 42-1-12 (f)
    Answer: (1) Provide the required registration information to the appropriate official before being released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation; (2) Register in person with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender resides within 72 hours after the sexual offender’s release from prison or placement on parole, supervised release, or probation; (2.1) Provide the location of where he or she sleeps if the sexual offender is homeless; (3) Maintain the required registration information with the sheriff of each county in which the sexual offender resides or sleeps; (4) Renew the required registration information with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender resides or sleeps by reporting in person to the sheriff within 72 hours prior to such offender’s birthday each year to be photographed and fingerprinted; (5) Update the required registration information with the sheriff of the county in which the sexual offender resides within 72 hours of any change to the required registration information, other than where he or she resides or sleeps if such person is homeless.

  3. Who enters the sexual offenders on the registry?  O.C.G.A. § 42-1-12 (d)
    Answer: No sexual offender shall be released from prison or placed on parole, supervised release, or probation until: (1) The appropriate official has provided the Georgia Bureau of Investigation and the sheriff’s office in the county where the sexual offender will be residing with the sexual offender’s required registration information and risk assessment classification level; and (2) The sexual offender’s names has been added to the list of sexual offenders maintained by the Georgia Bureau of Investigation and sheriff’s office as required by this Code section, and (3) The Georgia Bureau of Investigation enters the sexual offenders who relocate to Georgia from another state.

  4. Who should I contact if any of the sexual offender’s information is incorrect on the website? Answer: The Sheriff of the county of residence.

  5. What happens if the sexual offender fails to comply with the registration requirements? O.C.G.A. § 42-1-12 (n)
    Answer: Any individual who: (1) Is required to register under this Code section and who fails to comply with the requirements of this Code section: (2) Provides false information; or (3) Fails to respond directly to the sheriff of the county where he or she resides or sleeps within 72 hours prior to such individual’s birthday shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than one nor more than 30 years; provided, however, that upon the conviction of the second offense under this subsection, the defendant shall be punished by imprisonment for not less than five nor more than 30 years
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  » NEWS STORIES

NCSO searching for Tuesday shooting
suspects

Posted: April 11, 2018

Resident shot at during early morning
burglary

Posted: April 10, 2018

NCSO to host 'recruitment roundup'
Posted: April 9, 2018
  » CURRENT AGENCY NEWS

Severe Weather Alert from Sheriff Brown
+ More information

Discharging Firearms Code
+ More information



 
Copyright © Newton County Sheriff's Office 2018 Privacy Policy   15151 Alcovy Road, Covington, GA 30014 ▪ (678) 625-1403